Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Karma Fall Talk Series at the Rubin Museum

October 5 @ 8:00 am - December 9 @ 5:00 pm

karma fall talks series rubin museum

This fall, earth ethicist Karenna Gore curates a series of talks and films as the Rubin Museum’s final Future Fellow of 2018. The series seeks to elevate ancient wisdom and non-anthropocentric worldviews as rich sources to solve our ecological and environmental challenges. “Karma: Ancient Wisdom Meets the Future” features guests from a diverse set of spiritual traditions, including Tiokasin Ghosthorse, Phakchok Rinpoche, Mona Polacca, and Wen Stephenson alongside notable personalities like Laurie Anderson, Marina Abramović, Paul Miller (DJ Spooky), Meredith Monk, and Maira Kalman.

Gore is the founding director of the Center for Earth Ethics (CEE) at Union Theological Seminary, which bridges the worlds of religion, academia, politics, and culture. She will bring these insights to the Rubin Museum this fall alongside a wide range of voices.

Reflected in the Rubin Museum’s collection of Himalayan art, the ancient concept of karma has been interpreted by many cultures around the world. In Buddhism, karma is interpreted as the idea that our actions, including words and thoughts, affect our conditions, an idea that connects to ancient philosophies in many cultures and indigenous traditions. Dynamic talks and film screenings will illuminate these interrelated concepts throughout the season, exploring the consequences of our actions.

On-Stage Programs at the Rubin Museum

  • Pua Case + Karenna Gore The Original Instructions Friday, October 5, 2018 7:00 PM $25
  • The Lenape Center What Makes Things Sacred? Wednesday, October 10, 2018 7:00 PM $25 theater program Free pre-program ceremony
  • Marianne Williamson + Karenna Gore Wednesday, October 24, 2018 7:00 PM $30
  • Kavita Shah Karma Music Friday, October 26, 2018 7:00 PM
  • Maira Kalman + Alex Kalman Minimalism is Good Karma Monday, October 29, 2018 7:00 PM $55 incl. book, preferred seating, and pre-program tour $30 general seating, gallery admission
  • Kyabgön Phakchok Rinpoche + Erric Solomon Karma and Radical Happiness Saturday, November 10, 2018 3:00 PM $45 incl. book, preferred seating, and pre-program tour $25 general seating, gallery admission
  • Trance/Form Museum Dance Party and Live Concert with Innov Gnawa Saturday, November 10, 2018 9:00 PM
  • Tiokasin Ghosthorse + Laurie Anderson The Power of Words Monday, November 19, 2018 7:00 PM $40
  • Swami Sarvapriyananda + Kevin Mitchell Genetics is Karma Wednesday, November 28, 2018 7:30 PM $49 incl. book, pre-program tour & preferred seating $25 general seating, gallery admission
  • Wen Stephenson + Roy Scranton We’re Doomed. What would Buddha do? Saturday, December 1, 2018 6:00 PM $25
  • Jeffrey Sachs + Guest Thursday, December 6, 2018 1:00 PM $25
  • Meredith Monk + Robert Thurman On Behalf of Nature Wednesday, December 12, 2018 7:00 PM $45
  • The Heart of a River Performance by DJ Spooky, Rave Mehta, Brooklyn Raga Massive Friday, December 14, 2018 7:00 PM $35
  • Vishwa Adluri + John Lipscomb Do Rivers have Rights? Sunday, December 16, 2018 3:00 PM $25
  • Marina Abramović + Mona Polacca Rites and Rituals Wednesday, December 19, 2018 7:00 PM $45
  • SPECIAL FILM SCREENINGS Becoming Animal Imagine Science Film Festival North American Premiere Wednesday, October 17, 2018 7:00 PM $22 Incl. Q&A with the filmmaker
  • Brooklyn Raga Massive Fantastic Planet (Film + Live Score) Friday, November 19, 2018 7:00 PM $28 Advance tickets $30 Day of tickets
  • Walk With Me Wednesday, September 26, 2018 7:00 PM Monday, October 22, 2018 Monday, October 29, 2018 Monday, November 12, 2018 Monday, November 19, 2018 Monday, November 26, 2018 1:00 PM $22
  • Tibet: The Trail of Light North American Premiere Friday, December 7, 2018 9:30 PM Saturday December 8, 2018 Sunday, December 9, 2018 2:00 PM $22 Incl. Q&A with the filmmaker

Tickets go on sale to the general public on September 7, 2018. Members receive early access to ticket sales and a 20 percent discount for all programs.

For ticket information and updates on events, please visit: Rubin Museum

Thanks for spreading the word!
Created with

Details

Start:
October 5 @ 8:00 am
End:
December 9 @ 5:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,

Submit Your Event

Created with